Chocolate Crackle Cookies

Cookies

What’s this? Two posts in one week? Hurrah!

I have found myself in the rare situation of having a week off work! Yay! And of course, I’ve chosen to celebrate my first day of freedom in my favourite way – baking!

Cookies

These cookies are a delicious weekend treat, and so easy to make. And even easier to eat. Two may have even ended up in my mouth just taking them off the tray. Oops.

With a beautiful crispy outside and a wonderfully squishy inside, they are pretty much the bees knees. And such a rich chocolatey flavour!

Cookies5

They are also dairy free! So if you have a dairy intolerance, you can eat ten and not feel like hell. Well, you might, but it won’t be from the dairy.

I found this recipe here – I halved the recipe because I would have eaten my way through all 72 of the suckers and then felt very fat and horrible. Plus I don’t have room in the oven! 72 seems excessive. I actually only got 28 cookies out of the halved recipe when technically there should have been 36, but some were a bit bigger than others anyway. Who cares. Less cookies to tempt me.

Nom.

Cookies heart

Chocolate Crackle Cookies

Makes about 30 cookies, give or take

  • 125g plain flour
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 43g cocoa powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 63ml vegetable oil
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1tsp vanilla essence
  • Pinch of salt
  • A couple of tablespoons of icing sugar

Method

  • Mix together the cocoa powder, sugar and vegetable oil in a large bowl
  • Beat the eggs in one at a time, then add the vanilla essence
  • Sift in the flour, baking powder and salt, and mix well
  • Cover the bowl with cling film and chill for 4 hours in the fridge, or in the freezer for half an hour if you’re in a rush for cookie deliciousness!
  • Heat the oven to 180°C and line your baking trays with non-stick parchment
  • Make small balls of the dough, about the size of a walnut, and coat well in icing sugar before placing them on the baking trays. You need to work quickly at this stage, because the dough will get sticky as it warms up. I use a teaspoon to scoop blobs of the dough and then shape them with my hands.
  • Bake for 10 to 12 minutes. Leave to cool for a few minutes before moving them onto a cooling rack.

Have a good weekend, folks!

One thought on “Chocolate Crackle Cookies

Leave a Reply

