Marbled Cupcakes

Marble Cake 5

So, despite having a week off, I’ve been surprisingly busy, so I’ve pulled out one of my favourite classic bakes to knock up this week. These cuties combine the best of both worlds – chocolate and plain sponge – and are wonderfully light and snackable.

Marble Cake 3

Adding a good drizzle of melted chocolate on the top gives an extra treat to these little cakes. My Mom always used to put chocolate on top of her marble cake, it just really finishes it off. It’s a step that the recipe doesn’t call for, but inspired by my Mom, I’ve gone ahead and done it anyway because, well, yum.

Marble Cake 4

This is a recipe from one of my favourite recipe books (there will be plenty more from it in the future too, it’s filled with great bakes!) The book is part of the “Easy” range of recipe books that you can get from Marks and Spencer, and this one is “Easy Cupcakes”. I love these books, I have about 6 different ones, because they really are what they advertise.

Marble Cake 2

I love how simple these cakes are. The chocolate and plain sponge are in perfect balance, and there’s nothing fussy about them, no sprinkles falling off and making a mess of the carpet, or buttercream going all over your face. Although trying to resist eating four in one sitting is a bit tough.

The recipe states that this recipe makes 21, but I only made 18 because I like a bigger cake!

Marble Cake 1

Marbled Chocolate Cupcakes

Makes 18-21, depending on preference

  • 175g baking spread or butter
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 175g self raising flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 55g plain chocolate, melted (I actually used half plain and half milk because I ran out of plain!)
  • Extra chocolate (I used milk and white) for the drizzling on top

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 180°C. Line 2 bun tins with 18-21 paper cases – depending on how big you like your cakes
  • Put the baking spread, sugar, eggs, flour and milk into a large bowl and beat together until smooth. It’s best to use an electric hand whisk if you have one to get everything properly incorporated
  • Melt the chocolate. I do this by putting the chocolate in a bowl over a pan of boiling water, but you can also do it in the microwave – just do it in short bursts, no more than 20 seconds at a time, and stir between each zap. It can burn easier this way so I prefer the bowl over the saucepan way.
  • Divide the mixture into two bowls as equally as you can. Add the chocolate to one bowl and mix well.
  • Using teaspoons, put alternating blobs of plain and chocolate mixture into the cases, about half a teaspoon at a time. If it doesn’t look very “marbled”, use a teaspoon to swirl the mixtures together a little
  • Bake for 20 minutes, or until well risen and springy to the touch
  • Leave to cool before decorating
  • Melt the remaining chocolate, and using a spoon, drizzle it over the cooled cupcakes. Leave to set.

Enjoy and see you next week!

Leave a Reply

