Chocolate Brownie Cupcake Bites

Brownies 1

I have a confession to make.

I don’t actually eat much chocolate.

Chocolate cake, in any shape or form, however, I cannot get enough of. Especially these super simple, super delicious, super chocolatey brownies.

Brownies 2

As per my usual style, I bake these beauties as individual cupcake size “bites”, because A, all of my deep baking tins always end up scratched/rusty/used for roasting potatoes/all of the above and are not so good for making cakes, and B, I don’t get a choice what size they are. If I make a tin of brownies, they may “accidentally” end up cut into four squares instead of 12. This way, you just have ready-to-go brownies right there ready for scoffing.

Even better, each tasty bite is the best of both brownie worlds. You have that gorgeous outside kind of crunchy, cakey bit, and that fantastically fudgey, chewy middle bit, all in one perfect individual portion. Or two, if you’re feeling the particular urge for a major chocolate fix!

Brownies 4

I love how easy these bad boys are. The recipe is from a book I’ve had literally since I was a child – it’s called My First Baking Book, and it’s amazing. Because it’s meant for kids, the recipes are super simple and easy to follow, but they are also delicious. I always know the results are going to be perfect when I bake from this book, partly because I’ve been baking some of them for literally 20-odd years (ouch), and partly because they are so foolproof. Don’t knock the kids baking bible. It’s awesome.

Brownies 3

I used a really rich dark chocolate for these. I think it had 85% cocoa solids, so really quite a bitter chocolate. You need a dark chocolate for this recipe, because there actually isn’t that much chocolate in it for one thing. If you use a milk chocolate, they will end up a lot sweeter, because there is a lot of sugar in the mix. The dark chocolate counteracts the brown sugar and they balance each other out into this amazing deep, rich chocolate taste that’s just on that decadent line between sweet and bitter.

The only alteration I make to this recipe is to leave out the walnuts it lists in the ingredients. Simply because I don’t like walnuts. I have listed them as optional in the ingredients below though.

Brownies 5

Seriously, they are *so good*

Chocolate Brownie Cupcake Bites

Makes 12 cupcake bites, or one 8″x8″ square tray bake

  • 50g dark milk chocolate
  • 65g butter
  • 175g soft brown sugar (I use dark brown for the extra flavour)
  • 65g self-raising flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 65g chopped walnuts (optional)

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 180°C, and line a 12 hole cupcake pan with liners/silicone cases, or grease and line a baking tin with baking parchment
  • Heat a little water in a small saucepan. Chop the butter and chocolate and place in a bowl, then set the bowl over the saucepan of water while it simmers. Stir gently and let the butter and chocolate melt together. Remove from the saucepan and leave to cool slightly
  • Break the eggs into a large bowl and beat with a fork, then add the sugar, flour, and walnuts if using, and beat until smooth
  • Add the melted chocolate and butter mixture. It needs to have cooled to almost room temperature, because it can start cooking the batter if it’s too hot and you get a kind of scrambled egg smell! Not good. Beat well until fully combined, then spoon into the lined cases/tin, and bake for 30 minutes
  • Remove from the oven and leave to cool. If baked in a tin, cut into squares

This week’s recipe is from My First Baking Book, by Helen Drew, first published by Dorling Kindersley in 1991 (YIIIIKKKESSS)

Leave a Reply

