Raspberry and White Chocolate Muffins

Raspberry muffins 1

I think I can safely say that raspberries are my favourite fruit. I just love them. Best way to eat them – with meringues and cream. Mmm. But that isn’t exactly diet-friendly, so today I am opting for my second favourite – the ever-so-slightly less naughty muffins. Big fluffy muffins packed full of juicy raspberries and balanced with sweet white chocolate chips. Oh yes.

I practically lived on raspberry and white chocolate muffins at uni, but then the chain coffee shop on campus changed their recipe and they weren’t as good. Boooo! But these muffins, adapted from a recipe in another of my M&S cook books (this time, Easy Baking) are pretty damn close to the original I gorged on for those glorious years so long ago. I adore them.

I have also made a raspberry-free version for my non-raspberry-loving husband, so I have included a note about changing the recipe at the end.

Raspberry Muffins 3

What I really love about muffins is the contrast of the soft fluffy middle and the slightly crunchy top. I always eat mine upside down – soft bottom first and leave the top to last! And with these, I love coming across a zingy raspberry in the middle. Mm-mmmm!

Raspberry Muffins 2

I like to use fresh (or freshly frozen) raspberries for their juiciness, although it does shorten the life of the muffins having fresh fruit inside, so I keep them in the fridge and then bring them out about half an hour to an hour before eating. Obviously with the plain white chocolate ones this isn’t necessary, they will last just fine in an airtight container. I’ve heard great things about freeze-dried raspberries, but haven’t found anywhere to buy them from yet – if you know of a place, let me know!

What’s really great about these muffins is how light and moist they are. Even the raspberry-free ones are just so melt-in-the-mouth.

Raspberry Muffins 5

I just drooled.

Raspberry and White Chocolate Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

  • 280g plain flour
  • 1tbsp baking powder (note – in a pinch you can replace the plain flour with self-raising and omit the baking powder)
  • Pinch of salt
  • 115g caster sugar
  • 75g white chocolate chips or chopped white chocolate squares
  • 100g fresh or freshly frozen raspberries
  • 2 eggs
  • 250ml milk
  • 6 tbsp sunflower oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 200°C and line a 12 hole muffin tin with cases
  • Sift together the flour, baking powder and salt into a large bowl, then stir in the sugar and chocolate chips
  • In a separate bowl, lightly beat the eggs, then beat in the milk, oil and vanilla extract
  • Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix carefully. When they are almost mixed, add the raspberries and very carefully mix together – the raspberries can easily get smushed if you mix too hard and then you lose those nice raspberry surprises! I use frozen raspberries and add them while they are still frozen, that way they keep their shape a bit better
  • Spoon the mixture into the cases and bake for 22-25 minutes until the muffins are golden brown and firm to the touch. Leave to cool

To make raspberry-free white chocolate chip muffins –

Swap the raspberries for more chocolate chips (175g total) and skip the “add raspberries” step, adding all the chips in one go at the beginning instead. You could also swap white chocolate for milk or plain chocolate.

 

This week’s recipe is adapted from the recipe “Chocolate Chunk Muffins” from M&S Easy Baking cook book.

Leave a Reply

