Swiss Roll

Phew! What a week – and it’s only Wednesday! There’s lots going on in the tomboy household at the moment, and I needed a simple bake today. Well, it turns out, there’s not much simpler than a Swiss roll.

Swiss Roll 1

I’ve never made Swiss roll before, and I was first surprised to see that there is no fat ingredient in the mixture. Just three ingredients – egg, caster sugar and self raising flour. Wowsers! And such a short bake time too! I had the cake mixed, baked and cooled within half an hour. I’m really not even joking. It took longer to make the buttercream and to assemble it than it did to actually make the cake. So, so easy. Apart from the fact that I only bought myself a Swiss roll tin a few weeks ago, I don’t know why I haven’t tried it before! Okay it’s pretty much because I didn’t have the tin. But still. I’m still in shock at how simple it is!

The sponge is somehow light yet sturdy – it can take the strain of the roll as long as you’re careful with it. I’ve managed to crack a regular sponge just getting it out of the tin, but I practically dropped this out of the tin onto the side (by accident when I was turning it out!) and the only crack it sustained was where I’d been a bit heavy handed with my knife when I scored it for rolling! Good work, little cake!

Swiss Roll 2

I chose to put buttercream and jam in my roll. I could have gone classic just jam Swiss roll, but we love buttercream in the tomboy household. Mmm. So I thought why the heck not!

I think the extra filling probably made it a bit harder to make a really tight roll, and as a result it’s a little prone to squishing when it gets cut. But as long as it still tastes good, it doesn’t matter right? It’s still got one good roll in it so it’s all good!

I also chose to break the rules a bit with my rolling. I didn’t realise at the time, but I ordered a mahoosive Swiss roll tin. Apparently most tins are usually about 20cm x 30cm. Mine is 28cm x 40cm. Oops. I didn’t really want a massively chunky roll, so I decided to roll it along the width rather than the length, resulting in a longer, thinner Swiss roll. I figure it might go further this way! Although truthfully we’ll probably just have thicker slices. But we can pretend.

Anyhoo, let’s get on with the recipe shall we! I should mention – this recipe was actually printed on the packaging for my tin, so I guess credit goes to Tala bakeware for this one!

Swiss Roll

Makes one Swiss roll – I used a 28cm x 40cm tin, but the cake will just be a bit thicker using a smaller tin

  • 3 eggs
  • 75g caster sugar
  • 75g self raising flour
  • Half a portion of buttercream
  • Approx. 5 tbsp strawberry jam

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 200°C. Grease and line a Swiss roll tin
  • Crack the eggs into a large bowl and add the sugar. Whisk together (with a hand mixer if possible; by hand will take a long time) until pale and fluffy – I used a hand mixer and it took about 10 minutes
  • Sift in the flour and fold in carefully with a metal spoon
  • Pour the mixture into the prepared tin and bake for 7-10 minutes until a light golden brown. Keep an eye on it – check it at 7 minutes and do any additional baking one minute at a time. Mine only took 8 minutes
  • While the cake is baking, sprinkle a sheet of greaseproof paper with caster sugar. Once the cake is baked, remove it from the oven and turn out immediately onto the sugared paper. Leave to cool. Mine was cool in ten minutes! You could also do a “pre-roll” a la Bake Off – I didn’t, because chez tomboy is a madhouse and I had to make a phonecall, but the great Ms Berry recommends it!
  • Meanwhile, prepare the buttercream – I added a table spoon of water to make it easier to spread. Place the jam in a bowl and give it a good stir to loosen it

Assembly

  • When the cake is cool, remove the paper it baked on

Swiss Roll 6

  • Dollop buttercream all over the cake – this helps make sure you have an even layer all across the cake, rather than thick areas and thin areas

Swiss Roll 7

  • Then start spreading! Try and get it as smooth as possible, as any lumpy bits will make it harder to roll later

Swiss Roll 8

  • Spread the jam in the same way. You see the jam-free bit I’ve left at the top? This is what I am dubbing “squishing space.” I always find that no matter how thin you spread jam, it squishes out. So I have left this little space for the jam that gets squished along as I roll up the cake! Tada!

Swiss Roll 9

  • Start rolling! Score the cake at the bottom, about a centimeter from the edge, and use the paper to roll the cake up on itself

Swiss Roll 10

  • Et voila! One Swiss roll! Feel free to sprinkle with extra sugar. Cut slices as required

Swiss Roll 11

 

So there you go! The perfect cake in a hurry.

I also have one little announcement before I sign off. Me and Mr Tomboy are going to be moving house in a few weeks! So I’m going to apologise in advance in case I struggle to get a blog up at any point. We’re due to move in just over 3 weeks, so have a lot of packing to do, and after the move we might not have internet for a while. But once I can blog in our new house, I will have a nice big kitchen and a dining room to blog from, so I am very excited about that. If you have Facebook, you can “Like” my page here for more up-to-date information!

One thought on “Swiss Roll

Leave a Reply

